Is there a right number as far as how many players to keep on Varsity?

Discussion in 'About Anything' started by James LaMacchia, Nov 2, 2013.

1. Would love a some feedback on how many players you have kept on your teams and the Pros and Cons of each?

I am a first year varsity coach with some good returning talent, and 4 seniors that did not play last year.

1st senior: 6:4 somewhat athletic, but a very soft and unmotivated at times. Could he help me? Sure he is battling for backup minutes behind my starting big.

2nd Senior: He did not play last year as he had a ton of family issues, i pulled him up as a freshmen my first year as the JV coach and he was starting by the end of the year. Second year scored and rebounded the ball as well as anybody in the program, should have been pulled up to Varsity and then his Junior year (This past season did not play) Plays hard, tough kid, is a type of kid that will raise the level of intensity and has been nothing but a pleasure to be around.

3rd Senior: Tore his knee up and did not play last year. He is also battling for backup minutes with the 1st Senior. Limited but a great kid. His Mom came after me before i was even voted in as the coach and tried to get the AAU guy in and went to the President of the school board to try to make it so i was not voted in. Lol, don't or will never take it out on the kid, but he is a boarder line player.

4th Senior: There are two -first team all league guards that are going to be seniors who are the best in our area, this guard was even or a little better when they were all on JV two years ago. He has lost a lot from two years ago, but will be my starting point guard.

There are 6 Seniors and 1 Junior (Stud) returning from last years team. So including the 4 seniors above with the 7 returning that is 11 players.

There are 10 incoming Juniors coming in with 6 that will make the team for sure.

That is 21 players trying out.

My main question is how many?

12?

13?

14?

15?