Need help! What would you do? Bizarre situation

Discussion in 'About Anything' started by Coach Scott, Nov 1, 2014.

1. Coach Scott New Member

Hey guys,

I am a relatively new coach. I am starting my 3rd year of coaching youth girls basketball. This is my 150th game (I am weird and like milestones :)) and this has never happened to me.

We were playing in a tournament game this weekend and were up by 12. The other coach was playing a 3-2 zone and packing the paint. In fact he told his players to not go out past the free throw line extended. My team runs Read and React and they went to the 3-2 zone to start the 2nd half.

Of course I wanted to stretch the defense. I set up in a 1-4 low with 2 in the corners and 2 on the block. The defense DID NOT MOVE. I had my point guard stand just over half court and hold her dribble. I wanted the other team to have to send someone out to pressure. They did not budge! The other coach started to stare at me and told me "I can do this all night". It was bizarre and I honestly wasn't sure what to do. As the clock ticked down for 2 minutes I could tell people were getting uncomfortable.

The other team was shouting "bad coaching Red (my team)" and "bad sportsmanship". I am a parent volunteer and pretty laid back. It bothered me a little that the other team thought it was bad sportsmanship. Why should I be forced to play the 3-2 zone at the free throw line. Why not force them to play more space. Spread them out was my thought when they went to the defense.

I finally went 5 out and had the girls swing the ball from point to wing. I had my corners back cut and told the girls lay ups only. The wing defensive players did not come out past the 3 point line. Again, bizarre.